Skip to main content

News / Articles

2023 US Sailing One Design Regatta Award

Kyle Rogachenko | Published on 2/3/2024

The One Design Regatta Award

Full Article

2023 E Scow National Championship, hosted by Mendota Yacht Club (Madison, WI)

The One Design Regatta Award recognizes an outstanding national level event that promotes and inspires participation in One Design sailing. The award recognizes creativity in execution and management of the event. Past winners have included Charleston Race Week and many significant large One Design events that helped to raise the profile of sailing in the US and internationally.

The E-Scow class spent close to a year planning their 2023 National Championship to mark the 100th anniversary. The hard work of over 200 volunteers resulted in an amazing event with 126 boats starting together on Lake Mendota in Madison, WI. Despite not having a facility, Mendota Yacht Club and its army of volunteers made it happen by partnering with the city of Madison to take over a city park next to the lake that provided space to dry sail all the boats and ample room for social activities. 

Hosting the event right in the middle of Madison provided a further opportunity to engage non-sailors and introduce them to the sport. Dale Gordon accepted the award on behalf of the regatta organizers.